Interview with Barbara Spring about the Dynamic Great Lakes

January 18, 2014


The Dynamic Great Lakes Blog

Image

as published in the Michigan Environmental Report, vol 20, number 3

Interview of Barbara Spring by Dave Dempsey

What prompted you to write The Dynamic Great Lakes?

I was inspired by a speech I heard while at a writer’s conference in Aspen, Colorado. N. Scott Momaday, Pulitzer Prize winning author of The House Made of Dawn, gave a speech on the importance of landscape. When I came home, it occurred to me that my landscape is a waterscape–the Great Lakes system. With this thought, I began to work on The Dynamic Great Lakes. The importance of the Great Lakes is not always appreciated. I wanted people to appreciate them.

Who is the intended audience for the book and who might enjoy reading it?

I wrote The Dynamic Great Lakes with a general audience in mind. I spent a lot of time searching for and up-to-date book about the Great Lakes…

View original post 415 more words

Leave a Reply

