Palisades Nuclear Power Plant

September 19, 2011


As reported in the Grand Rapids Press

COVERT — Palisades nuclear power plant on Lake Michigan south of South Haven was shut down shortly before 3 p.m. Friday when a leak was discovered in a valve in the system that cools the reactor.

The plant will remain out of service until work and testing are completed, which should be “soon,” according to Palisades spokesman Mark Savage.The reactor is in a stable condition, workers isolated the leak Friday, and started work Saturday to repair the valve, Savage said.

Routine monitoring of pressure revealed the leak, Savage said.

While the plant is shut down, workers also added oil to a coolant pump reservoir, but the focus is on getting the leaking valve repaired and tested, Savage said, and that’s in progress. He said customers won’t be affected by the plant shutdown.

He would not speculate how long it would be before the plant is returned to service.

7 Responses to “Palisades Nuclear Power Plant”

  1. I am only writing to make you understand of the helpful encounter my friend’s daughter had reading through your web site. She came to understand lots of issues, most notably what it’s like to have an amazing helping heart to make the mediocre ones just know precisely some complex subject matter. You undoubtedly exceeded our desires. Thanks for providing those beneficial, safe, educational and unique guidance on your topic.

  2. Spot on with this write-up, I really suppose this web site needs much more consideration. I’ll probably be once more to learn much more, thanks for that info.

  3. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that it is best to write more on this topic, it won’t be a taboo subject but generally persons are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  4. made my way to your site from aol and and am glad i found it, hope you keep up the good work. I have my own poker blog nothing special.

  5. I would like to express my thanks to the writer just for bailing me out of this situation. As a result of exploring through the world-wide-web and meeting tricks which are not powerful, I figured my entire life was well over. Existing devoid of the answers to the problems you have sorted out as a result of your main blog post is a serious case, as well as the kind that might have in a negative way damaged my entire career if I had not encountered the website. Your own talents and kindness in taking care of every item was excellent. I am not sure what I would have done if I hadn’t come upon such a stuff like this. I’m able to at this moment relish my future. Thanks for your time so much for this skilled and result oriented guide. I will not be reluctant to suggest your web sites to any individual who would need recommendations on this subject.

  6. I am only writing to make you understand of the helpful encounter my friend’s daughter had reading through your web site. She came to understand lots of issues, most notably what it’s like to have an amazing helping heart to make the mediocre ones just know precisely some complex subject matter. You undoubtedly exceeded our desires. Thanks for providing those beneficial, safe, educational and unique guidance on your topic.

  7. found your page on yahoo and was just what i was looking for, keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

