Surfer Dudes in the Washing Machine.

December 2, 2009


Yesterday was so fine for December that I took a walk on the beach.  It was about 4 p.m. and the shadows were getting long.  I enjoyed watching the seagulls as they rested on the beach with their reflections in the wet sand.  When they flew, their shadows on the sand were long.  I tried to capture it on film, but my photos were not as great as the real thing.

The waves were high and I watched three suf board dudes jumping off the pier at Grand Haven and bobbing around in the “washing machine.”  The waters on the south side of the pier are dangerous since waves hit the pier hard and then flow in many directions.  I watched them for a while and the longest any actually got a ride was about 3 seconds.

A huge wave rolled in and washed over my feet as I stood on the beach and I was soaked, so I headed back.  I see the Great Lakes every day so that’s why I wrote my book, The Dynamic Great Lakes.  It’s available on line and at stores.

One Response to “Surfer Dudes in the Washing Machine.”

  1. Wow! Thank you! I usually wanted to write in my website something like in which. Can I take part of the post to my blog?

Leave a Reply

