Review of the Dynamic Great Lakes

February 2, 2012


The Dynamic Great Lakes

 

Review of The Dynamic Great Lakes

U.S. Water News – Peter Wild
Are dinosaurs cruising the benthic depths of the Great Lakes even while we go about our daily tasks? Not exactly. Yet sturgeon, fish weighing up to 300 pounds and similarly plated with armor,are nosing around down there. Occasionally you can see the monsters appear, making their spawning runs up rivers and surfacing like submarines in the pools beneath waterfalls.

The five Great Lakes, holding nearly twenty percent of the earth’s fresh water, are quite young. Gouged out by glaciers, they assumed their present shapes a mere 3,000 years ago. For that, they are a dynamic shifting system, still changing and exhibiting surprising differences. Lake Ontario, for example, the easternmost, although smallest of the bodies, holds more water than Lake Erie, its shallower nearby sister. Here’s a handy primer for all such things, from the interaction of phytoplankton and calcium carbonate that gives a white cast to these inland oceans come August and helps clean the water to the charming ice volcanoes spouting chilly “lava” in the winter.
This is intriguing stuff for adults, but the straightforward presentation also lends itself to use in schools, beginning about the sixth grade and up. And yes, we get the latest news on the zebra mussel, the tube nose goby, and other threats to the natural scheme of things. Also good news; how since the banning of DDT in the 1970’s, the bald eagles have come back.

24 Responses to “Review of the Dynamic Great Lakes”

  1. Dude, you are a good writer. Your article is really interesting. You should do it professionaly

  2. Simply wanna remark on few general things, The website design is perfect, the written content is really fantastic. “Good judgment comes from experience, and experience comes from bad judgment.” by Barry LePatner.

  3. Tambra said

    Hello. I recently would like to provide a enormous thumbs up for the great information you’ve here on this article. I will be coming back to your website for more soon.

  4. I have bookmarked it for you so that others will be able to see what you have to say.

  5. Excellent read, I recently passed this onto a colleague who has been performing a little research on that. And the man truly bought me lunch because I came across it for him smile So allow me to rephrase that: Appreciate your lunch!

  6. Very good info. Lucky me I ran across your site by accident (stumbleupon). I’ve saved as a favorite for later!

  7. vigan city said

    I’ve heard some good things about this blog. Remember to balance the pics with the text tho. cheers!

  8. Its like you read my mind! You appear to understand a lot about this, like you wrote the ebook in it or something. I feel that you could do with some percent to power the message house a little bit, but other than that, this is great blog. A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

  9. Some really select blog posts on this internet site , saved to favorites .

  10. I like this website very much so much great info.

  11. Keep up the superb piece of work, I read few articles on this website and I conceive that your web blog is really interesting and has lots of fantastic information.

  12. Very excellent visual appeal on this web site, I’d value it 10.

  13. montre gps said

    Very interesting details you have remarked, thanks for posting.

  14. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for! “The whole point of getting things done is knowing what to leave undone.” by Lady Reading.

  15. Some truly prize content on this internet site , saved to my bookmarks .

  16. Valuable info. Golden me I picked up your website unintentionally, and then I am astonied why this stroke did not transpire earlier! I bookmarked it.

  17. Thanks a lot for providing individuals with an extraordinarily remarkable possiblity to read from this website. It’s usually very pleasant and jam-packed with amusement for me and my office fellow workers to search the blog at the least 3 times in one week to learn the new stuff you will have. And definitely, I am just always fulfilled considering the stunning tips and hints served by you. Certain 1 tips in this posting are completely the finest I have ever had.

  18. I would like to thnkx for the efforts you have put in writing this blog. I’m hoping the same high-grade website post from you in the upcoming as well. Actually your creative writing skills has inspired me to get my own website now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a good example of it.

  19. Hey there, You have performed a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg it and in my opinion recommend to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this website.

  20. Thanks – Enjoyed this post, how can I make is so that I get an update sent in an email whenever there is a fresh post?

  21. davao city said

    Thanks for sharing those tid bits of information.. surely made my day. =)

  22. Awsome website! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am taking your feeds also.

  23. price best said

    Nice post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I’m impressed! Very helpful info specifically the last part :) I handle such information much. I used to be seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thanks and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 267 other followers

